It’s A New Day! Congratulations to President Barack Hussein Obama and Family

 President Obama, of the United States of America and the First Black Family

President Obama, of the United States of America and the First Family

Queer Black Cinema sends congratulations to President Barack Hussein Obama and the first Family. President Obama is the 44th President of the United States and first African American President.

Who knew I would in my life time witness the first  African American President of the United States.  It is indeed a new day!  I  grow up listening to the stories of Dr. Rev. Martin Luther King Jr., watching films and the same old lesson plan during Black History Month in High School. It was until I got to College that I really got to know who the King was and his legacy. It was too painful for my mom now 67 to talk in-depth about the civil rights movement or just her experience growing up period. Aside from  undergraduate African American studies class, I pretty much learned about American History also known as Black history through books, films, music and every now and again a story from my mom when she was in the mood to talk about it.

November 4, 2008 was a special moment in time for my mom and I. It was a beautiful day. The air was clear and it was a sense of calmness floating in the air that somehow, I understood. My mother and I walked to the voting location to vote for a Black man that would later become  the first African American President of the United States.  We then walked back with our neighbors, a Kenyan women and her college aged daughter. We all reflected and learned a little more about each other. It was a once in a life time moment that I will never forget.

Later that day, I drove to my sister house and witness she and her two girls  and boy (10, 4 & 2 yrs old) witness their mom voting.  My sister pulled my 10 year old niece in the actual voting booth after she was told not to. Her husband voted earlier that day and went off to work. It was truly amazing. The 10 year old was very excited and articulated her feelings very well. The two little ones was smiling cheek to cheek. Everyone in the parking lot was full of joy and excitement as if we won already.

Later that evening, I witness, President Barack Hussein Obama overwhelmingly win the 2008 President election over John McCain. John McCain humbly conceived and gave the most honorable speech I ever heard from a presidential candidate.   He put Hillary Clinton to shame when she lost to Obama. My mom and I was on the phone sharing this moment, crying our eyes  out without the tears.

Months later and just 12 hours after a successful  sold out  premiere of the Black Season: shifting focus to women of color of the L word presented by Queer Black Cinema in association with Billie’s Black, I got a a call from an associate.  While I was on the air with  OUT FM  doing a Dr. Martin Luther King Jr fundraiser for WBAI(99.5 FM) radio station I got word that I would be going to DC. I was ecstatic that I was going  to the inauguration all  expense paid trip to witness President Obama getting sworn in.  It was a surreal moment in time for me. Just days ago, I was planning to  attend the celebration at the Tribecca Cinemas in New York that one of QBC advisory committee member suggested.  Who knew, I would be there in the flesh experiencing such an historical moment in time. I was unable to get up and close to where the ceremony was happening but I could see the capital monument and was able to see the parade. I shot Lot’s of great footage and interviews that you wouldn’t believe unless you were there. It almost as if your race or the color of your skin wasn’t being judge. It was surreal, for a moment it seemed as if racism was unheard of. Again, you had to be there to fully understand what I’m talking about.  I saw women and men of all races form a circle listening very quietly to the radio as President Obama gave his acceptance speech.  For that moment we all were one. We all were the same. Until I get home and heard the other side of what happened  during the inauguration….

Reflections by Angel L. Brown,

Founding Executive Producer/Curator of Queer Black Cinema

Out FM (WBAI 99.5 FM)

Want to hear more? Check out the Yes We Did  segment Angel produced Monday, January 26 on Out FM (WBAI 99.5 FM) from 11 AM – 12 Noon.

Friendly reminder, The YES WE DID! or did we ?? Exhibition CALL FOR SUBMISSIONS deadline has been extended to February 10. You still have time to submit. For details information, go to: www.queerblackcinema/submissions.htm

Submit your photo’s| video blogs| short films| docs|art | writings

SHARE YOUR EXPERIENCES, VOICE, ART TO THE WORLD!


Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

